Following Lines: Ikivuq Adventure

On July 10th 2017, six crew members flew to the Arctic borders of Quebec. The goal of their trip was to draw up a map of one of the last sizeable uncharted rivers of northern Quebec.  The group took part in the IKIVUQ expedition. IKIVUK in the Inuktitut language is an invitation to join in the adventure.

Their journey began in the heart of the Quebec tundra, the Pingualuit National Park. From there, they planned on paddling 380 kilometres and portaging nearly 20 kilometres in order to finish their journey in the small Inuit community of Kangirsuk. Unfortunately, the team will be forced to change their plans ...

01_Canada.jpg

To consult the nautical survey made by the team click here (french version only).

_FLS4656_edited.jpg

Ariel Desjardins-Charbonneau

Ariel has been exploring rivers for the past 15 years. For him, it is essential that expeditions combine a high level of security as well as a high level of fun. Ariel is a businessman, a physiotherapist, a researcher, a clinician, as well as, a certified guide in adventure tourism. When canoeing season is over, Ariel pores over maps in order to plan upcoming expeditions.

 

“I love the time spent planning our route; dreaming of great expeditions; the feverish feeling of being outbound; the pride of going beyond one’s limits; and the powerful freedom of being lost, isolated, and yet in the place where one belongs. There is no experience more potent than canoeing in the wilderness, where I feel so close to my true self, so close to others, so accomplished, so thoroughly content.”

_FLS5229_edited.jpg

Cloé Fortin

Cloé has always been an outdoor enthusiast and started paddling when she was a teenager.  As a doctorate student in psychology at the workplace and in organizations, Cloé focuses on systems, shared leadership and on new management methods. Her professional baggage as well as her experience in different adventure activities brings her to believe that outdoor activities are the ideal environment to live up to their ambitions.

“I like playing outside. Being outdoors in the middle of the noise and silence of the forest. Being in the centre of the elements and their unpredictability. I love to dream, tell stories, create a fantasy and feel the movement. I love to support and interact. Allowing room for surprises. “

_FLS3666_edited.jpg

François Léger-Savard

Quebec’s Far North is one of the first territories that François had the opportunity to explore. His next projects took him to various countries in the Americas, Asia and Africa. For the last several years François has participated in a variety of different documentary productions which focus on the social aspects of life for TV shows, the big screen and for the web. His images combine the immensity of landscapes – natural or urban – with the intimacy that is held in the portraits he is able to capture on his path.

“From behind the lens of my camera, my eyes observe things that are difficult to explain, impossible to deny, imperative to share. Whether it is to help us bow down before the beauty of the world or to condemn those things that make us ugly, I feel the need to share these images which help me to mature.”

_FLS2709_edited.jpg

Raphaël Hernandez

For now more than ten years, Raphaël has worked as a multidisciplinary designer.

 

Raphaël works on developing everything from consumer goods, to installations in museums or for publicity and events. For all of his projects, he keeps the human at the heart of his concepts.  

 

He took part in various expeditions across the country. His talent for cooking, his understanding of objects and materials, as well as his outspokenness, makes him the ideal partner for such an undertaking.

“For me, expeditions are the perfect excuse to pause for a while, give myself the room I need to breathe, create, listen my surroundings, and reset my biological clock to real time.”

_MG_6262_edited.jpg

Anne-Sophie Daigle

Ever since she was young, Anne-Sophie has had a passion for canoeing. She took part in many long expeditions as a guide for the summer camp she went to as a child, transmitting her passion to campers. She is currently a teacher in a school in Quebec City and she joins the team for the first time to complete this expedition. Her wish is that outdoor sports will become a tool to help students with learning disabilities.

“The intensity of this lifestyle, the human contact, and the incomparable experience of feeling Lilliputian among the surrounding grandeur are all part of what I look forward to. It should be an uncommon expedition, one which is taking shape initially in my imagination. I trust it will be profitable to all: to myself, to my crewmates, to our near and dear ones, to my future pupils. I plan to live this major expedition fully, with all the strength of my beating heart and all the strength of my paddling arms.”

_FLS4670_edited.jpg

Élise Bélanger-Desjardins

Elise possesses a talent for seeking out people and creating ties. This aptitude and her interest for others have led her to explore multiple regions around the globe. Her curiosity excites her need to explore a large number of countries; from the colourful reefs of Asia to the turbulent rivers of the Arctic. Elise is a thoughtful doctor who has been practising in the Inuit community of Salluit in Nunavik for the last few years. Her practice is centred around the human beings and the links she is able to create.

“I love being taken aback by change, carried away by uncontrollable laughter and mesmerized by a new world. I have long dreamt of participating in a major expedition and more so since I have become acquainted with the North. I respond strongly to this arid land, which is both deeply silent and charged with history and which gives me the feeling, almost the certainty, that each of us has a role to play in the grand scheme of things.”

 
Partners of Ikivuq adventure
Logo Esquif 2008.png
TNF_Logo_Regular2012_CMYK_.jpg
william-painter_logo_text-and-logo_whitw
Kokatat-Color-Wave.png
nunavikparks_blanc.png
Family-Logo-WERNER-PADDLES-Stacked-white
WORMY-Transparent.png
CKQC_Logo_3 couleurs_blanc_plaisir de pa
EXPED_Logo_horizontal_blanc.png
logo_sense_vertical_blanc.png
inreach-canada-logo-purple_hi.png
fiveten-logo blanc.png
Logo_deuxCosmetiques_CMYK-02 (1).png
osprey_Oval-Logo_Smooth.png
rsz_pf_free_powerfilm_usa_logo_white.png
LOGO_HappyYak_ca_PMS158.png
redtail logo.png
logo_snap_court_white_fr.png
AirInuit_logo_2lignes_Print_PMS1665C.png
mec_rgb_registered_fr.png
CC LOGO CLR_white.png
Avataq LOGO 2009 blc (triligual_vertical

UN CHEMIN À TRACER: Expédition Ikivuq

Le 10 juillet 2017, six membres d'équipage s'envolent vers les frontières arctiques du Québec. L'objectif est d'établir la carte d’une des dernières grandes rivières québécoises encore inexplorées par des pagayeurs contemporains. Ils prennent part à l'expédition nommé IKIVUQ, qui en langue inuktitut appelle à prendre part à leur aventure.

Leur périple débute au cœur de la toundra québécoise, dans le parc national des Pingualuit. Leur parcours devait se terminer après 380 kilomètres pagayés et près de 20 kilomètres portagés, dans la petite communauté inuite de Kangirsuk. L'équipe sera forcée de changer ses plans... 

01_Canada.jpg

Pour consulter le relevé nautique du parcours effectué par l'équipe cliquez ici.

Ariel Desjardins-Charbonneau

Ariel explore les rivières du Québec depuis plus de 15 ans.  Lors d'expéditions, il est essentiel pour lui de toujours concilier sécurité, dépassement et plaisir. Entrepreneur, physiothérapeute, chercheur et clinicien, il a également complété une formation de guide en tourisme d'aventure. Entre les saisons de canot, Ariel scrute les cartes pour mettre sur pieds de nouveaux projets.

 

« J’aime tous ces moments passés à organiser notre parcours ; pour le rêve de la grande expédition, pour ressentir la fébrilité du départ, pour la fierté que m’apporte ce dépassement de soi et pour cette liberté de se retrouver perdu, isolé, au milieu de nos racines. Il n’y a aucun autre moment aussi fort que le canot en région éloignée, où je me sens aussi proche de moi aussi proche des autres, aussi accompli et heureux. »

Cloé Fortin

Cloé pagaie depuis son adolescence et a participé à de nombreuses expéditions. Étudiante au doctorat en psychologie du travail et des organisations, elle s’intéresse aux systèmes, au leadership partagé et aux nouveaux modes de gestion. Son bagage professionnel et son expérience dans l'univers de l'aventure l'amènent à penser que les activités de plein air représentent un espace de choix pour faire vivre ses ambitions : participer à l’évolution de la conscience pour faire émerger le meilleur de l’humain et cultiver un monde où tous les jeunes ont la possibilité de développer leur plein potentiel.    

« J’aime jouer. Être dehors au milieu du bruit et du silence de la forêt. Au milieu de la variabilité, de l’imprévisibilité. J’aime imaginer, raconter des histoires, fabriquer des rêves, sentir le mouvement. J’aime accompagner. Interagir. Laisser la place à la surprise. »

François Léger-Savard

Le Grand Nord québécois est un des premier territoire que François explore. Nombre de pays des Amériques, d’Asie et d’Afrique, constitueront ensuite les sujets principaux de ses différents projets. Il participe depuis plusieurs années à de nombreuses productions documentaires explorant la sphère sociale autant pour la télévision, le grand écran que pour le web. Ses images conjugue continuellement l'envergure des paysages - naturels ou urbains - à cette intimité qui traverse les portraits qu'il saisit sur son chemin.

« Derrière ma caméra, mes yeux observent des choses difficiles à expliquer, impossibles à nier, nécessaires à partager. Que ce soit pour nous incliner ensemble devant la beauté du monde ou pour dénoncer les choses qui nous rendent laids, je ressens le besoin de partager ces images qui me font grandir. »

Raphaël Hernandez

Raphaël est designer multidisciplinaire depuis plus de dix ans.

Que ce soit en développant un produit de consommation ou une installation dans le domaine muséal, publicitaire ou en événementiel, c’est l’humain qui est au cœur de son approche de conception.

 

Raphaël a pris part à de nombreuses expéditions à travers le pays. Son talent de cuisinier, son intelligence de l'objet et des matériaux ainsi que son franc-parler ont fait de lui un membre inestimable de cette aventure.

« L’expédition est pour moi un prétexte formidable pour m’arrêter, me donner l’espace dont j’ai besoin pour respirer, créer, écouter ce qui m’entoure, remettre mon compteur à zéro. »

Anne-Sophie Daigle

Anne-Sophie est passionnée par le canot depuis l’enfance. Elle a participé à de nombreuses expéditions de longue durée en tant que guide pour le camp de vacances qu’elle a fréquenté enfant.

 

Enseignante en adaptation scolaire dans une école de la région de Québec, elle se joint pour la première fois à l’équipe. Elle rêve que les activités de plein air deviennent un outil de plus pour faciliter l’insertion sociale des élèves en difficulté.

« L'intensité du mode de vie, le contact humain et le sentiment incommensurable de se sentir minuscule à travers cette grandeur seront de retour cette année. Une expédition qui sort du cadre, qui prend vie tout d'abord dans mon imaginaire. Je la souhaite profitable à tous, à moi, à mes coéquipiers, à notre entourage, à mes futurs élèves. C'est à coups de cœur et de pagaie que je vivrai pleinement cette grande expédition. »

Élise Bélanger-Desjardins

Élise possède un talent certain pour aller à la rencontre de gens. Cette aptitude et son intérêt pour l'autre l'ont amené à explorer plusieurs régions du globe. Sa curiosité suscite également la quête d'explorer un grand nombre de territoires, des colorés  fonds marins d'Asie aux tumultueuses rivières arctiques. Médecin attentionnée, elle exerce depuis plusieurs années dans la communauté inuit de Salluit au Nunavik où elle mène un pratique humaine et de proximité.

« J’aime être déstabilisée par le changement, emportée par une explosion de rires, envoûtée par un nouveau monde. Je rêvais depuis longtemps de participer à une grande expédition, surtout depuis que j’ai rencontré le Nord. Je me sens interpelée par cette nature aride, à la fois silencieuse et chargée d’histoire, qui me donne l’impression, presque la certitude, que nous avons tous un rôle à jouer quelque part. »

 
Les partenaires de l'aventure
TNF_Logo_Regular2012_CMYK_.jpg
Kokatat-Color-Wave.png
Family-Logo-WERNER-PADDLES-Stacked-white
WORMY-Transparent.png
EXPED_Logo_horizontal_blanc.png
inreach-canada-logo-purple_hi.png
fiveten-logo blanc.png
Logo_deuxCosmetiques_CMYK-02 (1).png
osprey_Oval-Logo_Smooth.png
rsz_pf_free_powerfilm_usa_logo_white.png
LOGO_HappyYak_ca_PMS158.png
redtail logo.png
logo_snap_court_white_fr.png
AirInuit_logo_2lignes_Print_PMS1665C.png
CC LOGO CLR_white.png